County of Marin Health and Human Services

Vital Statistics - Birth and Death Records


California Health and Safety Code (HSC) Section 103526.5 sets security features required for vital records banknote paper that is used for certified copies of birth and death certificates.

Due to a statewide shortage of banknote paper, as of August 24, 2015, Marin County Office of Vital Statistics will be working with the California Department of Public Health to serve all customers who request certified copies of death certificates (for deaths that have occurred in the current or previous year.)

To Obtain a Death Certificate in Person:

  • Up to two certified copies per decedent will be produced by our office at your visit, so you have copies for immediate needs.
  • Additional copies will be requested from the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) by our office. We will forward your application and check to the State. CDPH Applications are available in our office or at
  • The State (CDPH) will send the additional copies requested to the applicant's address on the application. The State estimates a response time of 5 workdays.

To Obtain a Death Certificate by Mail:

Requests for death certificate orders by mail can be sent directly to the California Department of Public Health, to assure that customers are served as efficiently as possible. To obtain a copy of a death certificate by mail, click here.

The Office of Vital Statistics Thanks You!

Birth and Death Certificates

Marin County birth and death records are maintained at the Marin County Office of Vital Statistics for the current year and the previous year only. The County Recorder's Office located at 3501 Civic Center Drive, Room 232 maintains copies of all Marin County birth and death records. Birth and Death Certificates can be requested either in person or by mail.

Requesting Records: The California Health and Safety Code, Section 103526, permits only authorized individuals to receive certified copies of birth or death records. Those who are not authorized by law to receive a certified copy will receive a certified copy marked "INFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY."

In order to obtain a Certified Copy, you MUST complete the sworn statement included with the birth or death certificate application form and sign the statement under penalty of perjury. If you mail your request, your sworn statement must be notarized. If your mailed request indicates that you want a Certified Copy but does not include a notarized statement sworn under penalty of perjury, the request will be rejected as incomplete and returned to you without being processed.

Birth certificates

$25.00 per Certified copy

Death certificates

$21.00 per Certified copy

Fetal Death certificates

$18.00 per Certified copy

Disposition Permits

$12.00 per permit

Payment: Payable by Cash, Check, or Money Order ONLY. We do not accept credit cards for payment.

Note: Any applications received with out the correct amount for fees, will be rejected for insufficient funds, causing a delay in your receipt of the requested documents.

Payment: check or money order only. Cash is accepted for in-person orders only.

Timeframe for Processing Requests: The birth or death certificate will be mailed to you at the address indicated on the "Applicant Information" section of the application form within 2 to 3 business days of receipt of application.

Please Note: Birth record must be received by Marin County Office of Vital Statistics from the hospital of birth before a birth can be registered and birth certificate produced. If receipt of the birth certificate is time-sensitive, please call the Marin County Office of Vital Statistics to verify that record has been received from hospital.

Appointments: certificates can be obtained on a drop-in basis at 10 North San Pedro Road, San Rafael, 94903. Appointments are not required except for home births see information below.

Home Birth: Appointments required to register a home birth. Staff will provide additional information when booking your appointment.

Medical Marijuana ID Program (By Appointment Only)

The Medical Marijuana ID Program, provided by the Marin County Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Vital Statistics, offers seriously ill Marin County residents an efficient and confidential method to verify to law enforcement representatives that they qualify for the use of medical marijuana. This program is consistent with the intent of Proposition 215 (California Health and Safety Code-Section11362.5). This service is available to both patients and their primary caregiver. The current fee for the State of California Medical Marijuana Photo ID Card is $113 (Medi-Cal patients receive a 50% reduction in this fee). The following information outlines the policies and procedures that will be used to issue cards.


Patients wishing to be certified for the Medical Marijuana ID Card Program may call the Marin County Office of Vital Statistics at 415-473-3288 to request an application packet. Application packets can be obtained in person at 10 N. San Pedro Road (Reception), San Rafael, CA (office hours are Monday-Friday 9:00am-4:00pm). An application packet may also be downloaded and printed from the California Department of Health Services website. Application packets include: information about SB 420 and the County ID Card Program, Frequently Asked Questions and, the Medical Marijuana Photo ID Card Application.

Applications are processed BY APPOINTMENT ONLY at the Marin County Office of Vital Statistics. Call (415) 473-3288 to make an appointment. For more information, visit