County of Marin Health and Human Services

Public Health Accreditation

Information on Service Adjustments During the COVID-19 Emergency

HHS is the County’s largest department with more than 700 employees who work at many sites throughout Marin. Many HHS offices have reopened with limited staffing to the public. Staff will continue to provide services remotely when possible for safety reasons, and residents in need of HHS services should consider conducting conversations over the phone or email when possible. Please call ahead if you have an appointment or require in-person assistance.

  • Adult Protective Services: (415) 473-2774.
  • Skilled Nursing/Assisted Living Ombudsman: (415) 473-7446.
  • Child Protective Services: (415) 473-7153.
  • Public Assistance Call Center (Medi-Cal, CalFresh, CalWorks): 1 (877) 410-8817.
  • General Relief: (415) 473-3450.
  • Behavioral Health and Recovery Services Access Line: 1 (888) 818-1115.
  • For information on resources and services specifically for older adults (persons 60+), persons with disabilities and family caregivers, call (415) 57-INFO (415) 457-4636 or email
  • HHS created a phone hotline, (415) 473-7191 (CRS 711), and an online contact form, for residents to contact staff with questions or concerns about the virus and about the county and community response. The call center is open from 9:30 a.m. to noon and 1 to 5 p.m. weekdays, and interpreter services are available.
  • Dial 711 for CA Relay Service (link is external)


The Marin County Division of Public Health is on our way to becoming PHAB-ulous! The Division of Public Health has embarked on an exciting, multi-year journey to becoming an Accredited Health Department through the national non-profit organization, the Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB).

10 Essentials of Public Health ChartPHAB’s national accreditation program fosters health departments’ commitment to quality improvement, performance management, accountability, transparency, and the capacity to deliver the Ten Essential Public Health Services. Committed to achieving the highest standards of public health practice, nationally accredited health departments demonstrate a consistent and continued commitment to strengthening their community partnerships, which in turn enables them to better serve their communities.

PHAB sets forth a set of 12 nationally recognized Domains for Accreditation, 10 of which specifically address the 10 Essential Services of Public Health. These Domains are broken down into Standards and Measures which provide a framework for evaluating our processes, services, outcomes, and progress toward specific objectives. They define the expectations for all public health departments that seek initial public health accreditation.  Accreditation also aligns with the implementation of the All in Marin Operational and Equity Plans, as well as the County’s 5-Year Business Plan. Click here to learn more about these Domains, Standards and Measures!

What are the Benefits?

Accreditation showcases the health department’s commitment to community health and demonstrates to the public and policy makers that the services being provided, as well as the internal operations of the department, are meeting rigorous external standards. Some benefits reported by accredited health departments include:

  • An institutional commitment to Continuous Quality Improvement processes within and across programs
  • Expand and strengthen community partnerships
  • Improve accountability to external stakeholders
  • Better identify strengths and opportunities for improvement
  • External funders favor accredited programs in competitive grants

How Does PH Accreditation Align with HHS and County Initiatives?

Activities for achieving accreditation map directly onto HHS and County strategic plans. The following provides a cross walk of strategic plan Focus areas and their corresponding PHAB Domains.  

HHS Strategic Plan to Achieve Health & Wellness Equity

  • Focus Area 1: Client (Domains 7, 9, 11)
  • Focus Area 2: Community (Domains 1, 4, 7, 11)
  • Focus Area 3: Conditions (Domains 2, 3, 4, 7, 11)
  • Focus Area 4: Quality (Domains 2, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12)

HHS Strategic Operational Plan

  • Focus Area 1: Employee Health & Well-Being (Domain 8)
  • Focus Area 2: Shared Leadership and Participatory Management (Domain 8)
  • Focus Area 3: Equity Diversity, & Transparency (Domains 3, 8, 11)
  • Focus Area 4: Measurement, Learning & Evaluation (Domains 9, 10)

County 5 -Year Business Plan

  • Focus Area 1: Inclusive Organization (Domains 3, 8, 11)
  • Focus Area 3: Career Growth (Domain 8)
  • Focus Area 4: Communication (Domain 3)

To learn more about Public Health Accreditation check out this video on Reaping the Benefits of Accreditation.